Laser Will Not Fire - RESOLVED :)

I have been using my Glowforge for a couple months now. I wouldn’t say a “lot” but a fair amount. Trying out different things. I was in the process of making 5 engravings similar to ones I have made at least 100 times before. It produced the first 4 just fine, but on the 5th it stopped. It continued to go through the motions and turned back on for a few dots here and there, but now nothing. I’ve cleaned the lense twice and restarted it several times, but still no laser. Everything else seems perfectly fine except no laser. Its also not a settings issue because it happened in the middle of an engraving and I’ve also changed it to full power since then and still nothing. Please help!

1 Like

Is this on Proofgrade? If not, and you are working on wood, I saw where someone else had a similar problem and it turned out to be an issue with the consistency of the material. It was just super hard in that spot. Maybe try the Gift of Good Measure on Proofgrade Draftboard. Support will probably ask you to do this anyway, and report the date and time you tried it so they can look up the logs.

3 Likes

Thank you for your response. Yes, I have tried it on many different materials since. Including proof grade and just regular paper.

Unfortunately, that sounds like something that support might need to take a look at. If you can, record the date, time and time zone of the last print you tried so they can look up your metrics.

(One of the things that happens with lasering is that the tube lights up and does the little purple plasma thing on the left side when it is firing…did you happen to notice if that is still going on?)

Whatever it turns out to be…good luck. :neutral_face:

I was just able to cut out a shape. I think it might be a file or engraving issue. I’m investigating and testing now and will report back. Thank you for your help.