Leather filtered mask(s)

Inspired by the Hahns Atelier design linked to here: Making a steampunk mask / PDF pattern / DIY free

I modified it quite a bit, and made sizes, and shape changes, and and and - so I thought I’d share.

Background

My husband and I have been wearing these for a couple months now. First I made the “small” one (center image above) which is pretty close to the design above - and not actually small, but fits a narrower face, then I made the “large” one which fits my husband better (picture on the left) - the curve over the nose is shallower which allows more width while maintaining comfort.

The downside of both of those is they cover the majority of your face and you lose all downward peripheral vision. Also while they create a seal pretty well around the cheeks/chin - the area around the nose is pretty open.

So I created the compact version (right image). In this case the large is about an inch longer than the small, but other than that they’re identical. These are designed to sit on your chin, not cover it, and there is extra leather in the edging that fills in the gaps around your nose. I am able to make a solid enough seal that my glasses don’t fog up :slight_smile:

The filter is made from fusible interfacing. It was recommended as a good filter when cloth masks were first being suggested. You can easily fit two layers in, as they just tuck under the edging.
It’s sewn together with embroidery floss that’s been run through beeswax. It creates a solid seam that nothing is getting through! I’ll put links below to the specific things I’m using, but any sort of waxed thread will do it :slight_smile:

Instructions
  1. You can print out the shape on paper and put it together with tape to get an idea of which one will work best for you.
  2. Cut the mask portion out of stiff leather (I used PG thick)
  3. Cut the edging portion out of soft leather (I used Tandy’s milled single shoulder)