Leather tools/accessories roundup

Getting ready to try leather for the first time. What are some useful accessories/tools to have when working with leather? Things like needles, thread/lacing, stuff to treat the cut edges, work holding, etc? I’m completely new to this. Bonus internet points for Amazon links :slight_smile:

12 Likes

Let me pull up a chair, I will also be taking notes. :pencil2::spiral_notepad:

6 Likes

If you have a Tandy store nearby, I’d stop by there just to get a first-hand view of all of the leather tools and accessories. They have a lot of dyes (with samples so that you can get a real idea of what each dye will look like on leather). They also run some pretty good sales from time to time, so it might be good to sign up for emails. Check out http://www.tandyleatheroutlet.com/ for some online-only deals. I bought a large amount of veg leather remnants from them for pretty cheap (http://www.tandyleatheroutlet.com/p-402-economy-veg-remnants-10-lb-box.aspx). I’m no expert, but luckily @Drea and @morganstanfield are!

One of the things I need to pick up is a stitching pony, but I’ve managed ok without one so far. I’m still a newbie with leather, but I’ve already starting experimenting and even managed to complete a small project. Good luck!

7 Likes

I’d encourage you to visit www.leatherworker.net and create an account on that forum. There’s a ton of helpful information and really cool people too.

5 Likes

If you have a resale license Tandy will sign you up for a free business account that gets you half off pricing on most things and no tax on consumables :smiley:

Yes, very!

@pdobrien the tools you’ll need depends a lot on what you plan to make, but here’s a short list of basics for hand sewing:

• a revolving punch (I prefer the cheaper Harbor Freight or
    Amazon version to Tandy’s)
  • an awl
  • a sewing awl (yup, it’s different)
  • heavy waxed nylon thread
  • beeswax