Low End/Intro Drawing Tablet Recommendations?

I’d like to play around with a digital drawing tablet, to see if it suits me. Since this is a trial run, I’d like to start off with a low end/affordable model that will still be decent enough to last a while.

The Wacom tablets have been mentioned a lot here, but they seem to have a huge product range. Having never used one of these things, I have no idea what features to look for. I’d appreciate any suggestions that you all can offer.

3 Likes

I been drawing with a Samsung Tablet Galaxy note. Since I’m only learning this works well so far. Many more established artists use the iPad that is compatible with the apple pen. I would have done that had I had the forsight

I would drool for the Cintaq but that’s way beyond my skill

1 Like

I’ll be interested in the responses here. I have an old Wacom tablet that I use and it works fine. But with the advent of actual tablets you can draw on (screen displays - iPads, Samsung, etc) , I wonder how that impacts the market of non-display drawing tablets. Obviously less horsepower than most laptop/desktop PCs. I guess I could research the various resolutions and sensitivity between the two methods if I were in the market.

2 Likes

I have an iPad Pro with an Apple Pencil…I know, it’s not budget level, but…

There are some really fine apps available now for both bitmap and vector art creation.

For a lower cost solution you could look at Wacom’s entry level tablets tethered to your computer.

3 Likes

Oh, thank you for mentioning that factor! I think it would drive me nuts … so much so, that I might be willing to spend more to avoid it.

1 Like

So here is a topic I actually know a little about. I have gone through a pretty wide range of tablets and digital drawing aids for the past 18 years.