Manual setting for Birch

Hello, I am new to Glowforge. I have a question about the manual settings. I am trying to make a shelf with white birch wood veneer core plywood. 1/4" thick.

How do I know what settings to use when I am not using the proofgrade materials from Glowforge?

1 Like

Welcome to the forum, Amy!

In general terms, the answer is testing, testing, testing. Luckily in your case, the PG settings for Thick Maple Plywood should get you in the ballpark.

Good luck!

5 Likes

Hi and welcome to the group :grin: The surest way to get an idea of the effect of different settings on different materials is to try different settings on different materials. I put this together and use it on every new material and keep them in a box for reference.

4 Likes

There is also a pretty comprehensive description provided by the manufacturer under the Support pages, linked above.

2 Likes

I use the 1/4 birch plywood a lot

speed 145
full power

like dwardio said testing, testing

1 Like

Thank you so much!

Thank you!

Is that right (145/full)?

I ordered some 1/2" birch plywood off of amazon: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4B1G3B/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and at first I tried the GF thick maple plywood setting. It was ok but needed three passes. Third pass started flaming. So I’m scared to try full power. Is it faster so less chance of flame?

There are woods that you might cut through a half inch thick, but I would not expect birch to be among them. And even then they should hardly be on anyone’s early projects.

You could get 1/4 inch Baltic Birch and make two and glue them together to make half inch. As it is plywood anyway you now just have more layers.

2 Likes

Sorry - it was 1/4” not half inch

1 Like

Just test it, it’s faster and more accurate than asking.

Everything is a guess for your specific material. Running a test is the only way to be sure.