Manual setting for cutting Cherry and Maple

Have tried for a few hours trying to find the best settings for Cherry and Maple hardwoods (non-proofgrade materials). I am new to this so I may be my graphics or something else. Is there a good “general” manual setting for engraving into 3/4" thick maple and cherry? Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

For engraving, the thickness of the material should not be a huge factor unless you want really deep engraves. I suggest you start with the engrave settings for proofgrade maple and cherry hardwood, make sure you have the material raised up to the proper level without the crumb tray and that your focus is set properly.

3 Likes

So the glowforge has “auto-focus”. Should I need to worry about focus settings?

Engraving anything over 1/2 inch thick is a problem as it makes a difference what you use to support it without the Crumb tray, Cutting them will best be done with a scroll saw as getting the Glowforge to cut even a half inch is problematic much less 3/4".

The best bet is to make a small :“standard candle” design that you can save and reference in all of your work. In all cases your experience will vary with both the individual piece of wood and which model of Glowforge you have. Except for cutting 3/4" wood . that would make a mess no matter what you did

1 Like

So as of right now, I am only engraving. Cutting will come later and once I get to that point, I would most likely be using much thinner material than 3/4".