Material Thickness Error for proofgrade materials

I’m trying to cut normal proof grade material, and I keep getting a material thickness error, I tried turning it off and on again, it wouldnt connect, had to re setup, and it still happened, then it wont connect again.

I’ve been finding I’ve been having problem after problem with glowforge. The amount of work required to troubleshoot these errors has really eaten into any profit that it has been bringing in.

I really wish this machine was somewhat reliable because its great when it works, but its basically a coin toss.

Very annoyed.

1 Like

Are you using a sheet with holes in it or a fresh sheet?

If the automatic scan happens to choose a location with a hole in it for the scan point that will give the error. Make sure the scan happens on the material to avoid it.

I have been using my machine for over two years and haven’t had a single moment of unreliability, so look at your WiFi and how you use it first to see if that may be the cause of the issue.

4 Likes

Fresh sheet. Its well under the height. I was cutting earlier everything was fine, Now I’ve been spending the past 4 hours trying to make a $25 sale.

I’ve had focusing issues, the machine grinding, Not cutting square, Constantly not connecting with reasonable wifi, constant having to start up the machine again to get going. The majority of my time on projects are troubleshooting.

Absolute nightmare, I’ve got to get to bed because I have a plumber coming tomorrow, but also need to get this thing going. Ive loved using it and have tried to put its shortcomings aside, but its becoming a lot more of a pain than a value add.

Focusing, grinding, and loss of square are all things that are frequently solved by maintenance. Be sure your lenses (all 5 spots) are clean, check for debris in your belts, and follow the instructions on the support.glowforge.com site for re-squaring your gantry.