Mont Blanc Pen & a Drunken Promise

Sooo I’m a newbie and opened my mouth at the wrong time aaand now I have a Mont Blanc pen in my hands that needs a small engraving. Its coated in “precious resin” which I believe ultimately means Plexiglas. I only have the one shot at this because its an expensive pen. Anyone done one of these before can dial me in on settings? Thank you!

2 Likes

I would take it to a jeweler skilled in engraving this item.

9 Likes

Welcome to the forum - you certainly want to start with a bang!

I’m with @dklgood - it’s doable, but I would not combine “newbie” and “$1000 pen” in the same project!

If you decide to go forward you’re going to need a jig:

and mask the pen so you can verify with a 3 power that it’s engraving in the right place.

Then raise the power bit by bit and run the engrave multiple times until you like it.

Haunting your local resale and/or pen shops in the hopes of scoring a broken one so you can test the material would also be an important first step.

9 Likes

Tritto. A pen is one of the harder things to align on. :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

It’s only a $400 pen ::slams head on desk::

Unfortunately she has been turned down by a few jewelers already, they were only willing to do lettering and she wants a small line art.

Since she has also given me a very short time table so I think I’m just going to politely hand it back. TBH I really didn’t think she was going to pop back up!

That said, thank you for the masking and 3 power setting idea, I’m definitely going to keep that in my pocket for future use

5 Likes

For funsies I may grab some of my “good” pens and play around when I have time. They’re like $1 each LOL

6 Likes

Or you could try pencils…they actually engrave pretty well.

2 Likes

They sell weirdly well around me too

2 Likes

Easier things….a grain of rice perhaps? :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

6 Likes

I hear that’s one of those urban legends. :wink:

5 Likes

Oh no. I have receipts!

3 Likes