My simple circle is cutting twice

simple circle

Hi! I am struggling to figure out why this very simple design cuts the circles twice. It is just one line on illustrator as far as I can tell (I am new to this). I also read another user having a similar problem, and it seemed her issue was that the ellipse stroke was not center aligned–this one is center aligned.

Anyone have any insight? Thank you so much for your help!
-Mere

I don’t know how you did that. But it’s a filled path or something. If you look at the pic I sent, the two parallel lines are your circle. When I brought it into illustrator it showed a red fill and no stroke. So I reversed that and set a blue stroke (0.01) and got rid of the fill. It shows two lines. That’s what’s getting cut. Just dropping a circle into the image doesn’t create the same issue.

6 Likes

I looked at it too, and agree with kanati…double circles.

5 Likes

simple circle

Should work fine with this one. (I didn’t look at the small hole. I would imagine the same thing for that one.

3 Likes

Thank you for your help. When I click on the circle in illustrator, it tells me there is no fill–I only created one ellipse. I guess I am new enough not to know what I’m doing wrong.

My process: Create ellipse–use selection tool, click on stroke color and then I eliminate fill. Why am I getting two lines?

Thank you both for responding!! I am just trying to understand what I’m doing wrong.

Thank you!

Wow! Thank you so much for doing that for me! Greatly appreciated. Hopefully I can figure out what I’m doing wrong in the future! It takes like two seconds to make, but I clearly am not doing it right! haha.

I’m not sure because I wasn’t able to reproduce how you did that. When I use the ellipse tool and drop a circle in it has no fill and only a stroke. I had to select the circle, go to object → compound path → release. Then ungroup to delete one of the circles.

1 Like