Need cart recommendations to use with students (also do I need a case?)

Hi! I am an online public school teacher planning to take my glowforge on the road to meet with students in parks, gyms, and student centers. I have a mini-van and I am not strong.

I want a cart that I can:

• Load in my house
  • Roll loaded with the Glowforge
  • Lock in place to use the glowforge while on the cart
  • Fold up to place between passenger seats when not in use.

I’ve seen conversations about this from 4-6 years ago, but nothing recent when I search. Lots of links are outdated. I know other teachers have done this and I would love to learn from you all!

While I am asking… do I need a hard case as well? It seems like a lot of packing and unpacking… What have you used and did you break your glowforge?

Thanks in advance!
Shauna

PS: I also bought the filter package and would be great to have the cart have room for that heavy thing as well.

2 Likes

It should be boxed up and secured as directed:

Will you have access to open 2.4GHz wifi, or do you plan to use mifi or a phone for internet?

Depending on the material used, the filter cartridge can fill in just a few hours of use, so be prepared for the replacement cost ($250 plus higher shipping charges due to size.)

Can’t help with a cart but rolling it over uneven surfaces is going to introduce vibrations that will accelerate its demise. It’s a delicate instrument.

6 Likes

All that orange stuff and a lot of the foam inside the machine when you get it has good reasoning. If the car hits a bump or goes around a corner it puts forces about that can damage the machine. Also on a scary inside the car, you will want to have Bungee chords at least so it does not get extra forces it is not designed for as well.