Need help putting pattern on earrings

I created a pattern in Inkscape of a pumpkin. I would like that pattern to score or engrave on an earring. I’ve tried following some other ideas and when I import it into the glowforge only the outside line of the earring is showing up. No pumpkins to be found. I’m new to this, but this is what I’ve done so far…
Insert pumpkin, path>trace bitmap> delete original.
Object>pattern>objects to pattern. I adjust the pattern to how I want it.
Then I created 2 circles of different sizes and selected difference.
What do I do now?
Thank you so much!

3 Likes

Hey, welcome to the forum! The good news is that you were close, you had good instincts. Here’s how I’d do it. (tutorial coming shortly)

7 Likes

OK so I don’t have your pumpkin but I have a similar concept. Here we go:

First I get a shape I want on an earring, let’s go with a star:

Now I want to make an earring shape to go with it. For simplicity I will choose a circle. You can use any shape you want, but this is a simple example so circle it is:

I’ve decided that I want the circle to be 1" in diameter, so i scaled it appropriately.

Now I want to make a hole to hang it from. There are a few ways to do this but I am going to go with what I’ll call the “dog tag” style. I first decide how large the hole should be and choose on a 0.1" diameter hole. I make that first.

Then I decide that the “ring” that surrounds it should be at least 0.1" thick too, so I make another circle that is 0.3" in diameter.

Then I center those two little guys using the arrange tool, they make a donut:

Now I want to align them to my larger circle. This I am going to do roughly by eye:

It’s a little misaligned, but that’s ok, I use the alignment tool, select all three circles and center them vertically. I also take a moment to color code them so it’s easier for us to see what’s happening here: