New to GlowForge! Need software advice/reccomendations

Hello Eveeryone! My name is Johnny and i am new to Glowforge! My Plus arrives on Friday and i could not be anymore pumped! I had a few questions regarding what software would be best suited for me and i apologize if this isn’t the correct forum to be posting in. I have a background in machining (Aerospace/Waterjet machining) so i am pretty comfortable with designing on my machines software(DXF based) but as far as something that would be readily available for me at home i am still debating on. From a CAD standpoint what is the most user/design friendly software? I’d like my wife to be able to learn it as well, she is already a great artist and has great vision on paper but some of the things GF peeps create just have me puzzled as to how you even come up with this stuff, its truly amazing! Any information is greatly appreciated and i thank you in advance!

P.S i am running a new Macbook if that matters at all. I’ll probably end up buying a desktop for the office to design soecifically for the GF. Thanks again!

3 Likes

Hey welcome to the forum! While I’m not the guy to ask about dxf based workflow, I think you’ll find this post really helpful to answer the other 100 questions you’re about to have :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Welcome ! you are in for quite a ride! I did Autocad for many years, but for curvy lines and squishy stuff it is not real flexible.
On the other hand Inkscape is not much good for turning out working detail drawings for machine shop or architecture either. However the right tool for what we do is Inkscape and Gimp for raster work if one is not familiar with those type of programs like the Adobe stuff.

You do not need to wait to download Inkscape and start playing with it, and Gimp too for that matter

4 Likes
2 Likes