Newbie needs U

Hello, newbie here. I have just set up my Glowforge and it’s connected to the WiFi and I have tried several times to create my first piece however it sticks on “scanning” with the icon continuously circling and then I just get an error message. I have switch it off, re-set the WiFi several times, tried different designs to cut and nothing seems to work. Am I doing something obviously wrong or do I just need to send this back and get a different brand!

I’m pretty new here too, and if you have the same problem I did, all around the glass where your camera is mounted in the middle, are little connections, and there’s a cable going from the left side of the glass to the middle of the glass connecting the camera.
Make sure all the cable connections are tight and didn’t come loose and if that doesn’t work you’ll have to talk to Glowforge during Customer hours tomorrow.

As for the machine, I’ve had a Glowforge Pro for a few months and I like mine,

But the best thing ever is everybody here is so supportive and has great answers for you. It’s just a feeling of security like having a bunch of mentors for everything so I would suggest get it up and running and try it for a bit. See if you like it.

7 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

Do you get this scanning error while the machine is going through its initial preparation - focusing, centering, scanning? Or do you get this message after you have opened a design in the interface and are trying to print?

5 Likes

Hi,
Thanks so much for your responses.
I seem to have got it working now. I had a fiddle with the connections. The error message is coming up periodically still when I’m in the design app but it is actually cutting eventually.
I’m not sure Im using the correct settings to cut/engrave but hey ho it’s all a bit trial and error at the mo!