Not to FILL the inside of my O

I’ve tried this multiple times using different methods from other posts here about how not to FILL a closed curve, but I am still having trouble.

Here is my design as it looks in Affinity Designer and the .svg file:

ios

When I print, I get a solid black O.

I can rasterize, but I am going to resize this and use in multiple places and would rather have a better solution.

I can’t really tell from the cropped screenshot, and I’m not an Affinity Designer expert, but it looks like what you’ve got there is a single thick stroke. The Glowforge software doesn’t pay attention to stroke thickness, so what you need to do in that situation is to convert it to two strokes with a fill in between. That function is usually called something like “expand stroke” or “outline stroke” or something along those lines. I’m writing this on a train so I can’t actually run the software to look at it. But if you can find where to do that, I think it may address your issue

2 Likes

Yeah, I’d have to see the SVG to offer an opinion, but I suspect the inner circle of the O is its own object, rather than being “subtracted” (Inkscape term) from the outer perimeter.

Actually, that was an opinion after all…

Ohh… the O. I misread the original question. I thought the whole rounded-rectangle thing was being filled. If it’s just the letter O, well… it’s even harder to tell what’s going on here. It doesn’t seem like a particularly proprietary SVG, so maybe sharing the file would be an option? That would help people to diagnose it. Otherwise, a whole screenshot with the problematic object selected and all of its properties visible would be useful.

The ‘Circle’ is a shape with blue stroke around it. You need to convert that to a path. So where when you select the ‘circle’ only it is selected and there is not ‘three’ lines going thru it.

(The center line is the actual shape, the outer two is the stroke width.)

2 Likes