Off Topic: what makes you famous?

Inspired by some of the wanderings in the Matchy Matchy Laser-Cut Leather Bow Ties! thread. I want to know what makes you famous, @smcgathyfay, @dwardio, @thomas.alessi.jr, @cynzu and @cynd11 all had really interesting things I’d like to hear more about. For me I have my name on a paper that isn’t terribly interesting

www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0167273812001130

11 Likes

Absolutely nothing! These days that sort of makes me feel special :smile:

12 Likes

More coolness! :grin:

I’m afraid I’m with Kenneth…I got nuttin. :smile:

10 Likes

The papers not really interesting but it’s all I’ve got :joy: I worked in a lab on campus during college and was running the X-ray diffraction machine for a PhD student and then I put all of the graphs together for him and helped him analyze so he threw my name on. I did get to build batteries from scratch which was pretty interesting

13 Likes

Do past lives count? Was an apprentice to Galileo for a short time. Got canned though. Nothing since.

28 Likes

Seventh place in the 1999 world nethack tournament

26 Likes

Nothing for the world but in my own line of work I was the first guy sent to Rome to study after a 25 year hiatus from my diocese. Nice to have recognition for my language skills.

I do have a personal letter from Stephen Jay Gould. I’d say he was the most influential thinker in my life.

And then the fact that I posted the first unboxing video of a Glowforge. Third most significant day in my life.

29 Likes