Olson Face Mask cutout template

Hello, —can’t figure out how to upload my svg files…someone help please…
During the COVID-19 quarantine, here is a way to help out. I watched a YouTube instructional video on how to make an Olson mask with a pocket for a filter (they said use a vacuum cleaner HEPA filter, bag type and cut it out to fit inside the pocket). I sat down and designed a SVG file for either a template to trace fabric out and cut with scissors, or use the other file to directly cut out fabric. Setting will vary, of course, but I double the fabric over once and use thickness of 0.017" and speed 400, power 60%. Your local hospitals may be in dire need of these.

Cloth Olson Mask Cutout.zip (1.8 KB)

Mask Template.zip (7.4 KB)

Cloth Olson Mask Cutout Inkscape Mask Template Inkscape

33 Likes

Thank you for doing this!!! I am still new to Glowforge and I wanted to do this template! Thank you!!!

1 Like

Zipping is good. Good design thanks for the contribution. The SVG usually is uploaded, but it is very small. Discourse doesn’t quite get the display size of the SVG correct so you need to adjust the HxW of the tag and give it a few extra zeros.

large fit box imperial GF

6 Likes

thanks for helping people not thinking to yourself

2 Likes

I was just wondering if there is a brand of hepa filter bag you would recommend? best smelling bags? :slight_smile:

Just watching the video, they do not mention what brand or anything. I am in the trial phase of making my own masks and I just bought a HEPA air conditioning filter for my home that I will disassemble and cut to fit in the pocket. And, by no stretch of the imagination am I anyone to say what is safe, or this actually works. I am just trying to put a layer or two in between me/anyone and contaminated air.

Thank you, if you have time can you explain how to do this. I don’t even know what a HxW is…