Owyn's: Another Monopoly Board

Yes, I do make other things besides Monopoly boards. No, I’m not planning on making another one. For the board, I ended up using some cherry ply from Owyn’s, versus proofgrade from GF. The Star Wars board that used Proofgrade ply has some significant warping, and I’m keeping some weights on it trying to straighten out the boards. The Owyn’s ply has been true, and no warping, even after cutting. Outside of having to add your own mask, and it not being finished, I think that this was a nicer piece of wood.

In 1991, I worked as a camp counselor at a summer camp in northern Wisconsin. Best summer of my life. I have been volunteering for them ever since. I am currently on the board of directors, and our annual Strong Kids campaign raises money for those kids who normally cannot afford to go to camp. I’m not very good with the ask and trying to get contributions in the traditional sense, so after creating the Star Wars Monopoly board, I decided to make one specifically for Camp Jorn, and raffle it off. This one took significantly less time than the last, but still a ton of work. Here is my 2nd Monopoly board:

CJ-Monopoly-11

97 Likes

Man, you’re really making me want to personalize a Monopoly set! (I like the camp one best I think.) :smile:

6 Likes

Wow, this is fabulous! Both the execution and the idea behind it are simply wonderful :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Absolutely amazing! It should fetch a tiny sum, at least I hope so!

5 Likes

That is awesome! Certainly looks like it must have taken a ton of time!

3 Likes

Ok. You need to stop. I already have over 1000 “pinned” ideas on my lasercut board, and I check this place daily. (I don’t have an addiction, I can quit anytime I want to. I just don’t want to. You’re not the boss of me.) I don’t need you adding chit to the must-make list! Ok? Jeez! :wink:

12 Likes

How do you get such good colors in the cards and properties? It doesn’t look like sharpies or just regular paint to me.