Part of my Inkscape drawing fills with color when imported into Glowforge when I select Engrave, when it imported as cut

This is hard to explain, so please bear with my ramblings. I am a glowforge and Inkscape novice. So here goes the description of my problem. Part of my Inkscape drawing fills with color when imported into Glowforge when I select Engrave, when it imported as cut. In Inkscape the lines I want to cut are red and the lines I want to engrave is in black. But when I open/create in on Glowforge, the black section shows up as cut, when I change it to engrave the entire space fills with color. I would like to post images of what I am saying but don’t know how.

Ok, so what you’re seeing is exactly what it’s supposed to do - hopefully this will make it clear :slight_smile:

The laser sees the lines you send it. If you send a circle: you can cut out a circle, score (a cut that doesn’t make it all the way through) a circle, or engrave a circle.

When you upload to the GFUI they default to Cut

If you switch to Score they’ll look the same

and Engrave will always fill in

If you want to engrave something that looks like the cut/score settings you need to create two circles - one smaller than the other - and combine the two so the inside one disappears:

test2
You create that by selecting your two differently sized circles and hitting Path > Object to Path > Difference

4 Likes

It sounds like you have some open paths. If you zip the file you can drag it into the forum and someone can help.

BTW, to post images you can either click the upload icon image and select the file name, drag and drop you image into the edit box here, or copy and paste it.

1 Like