Perhaps Camera Alignment Problems

Hi,

I was wondering, is the camera supposed to only see part of the printer bed? I have tried the camera alignment tool, and it is still not capturing the entire space when I use 18x20 sheets for my Basic model. I have also been setting the focus every time. It doesn’t hinder the laser from working properly. I just can’t utilize the full space of the material because I can’t see where to place it. Please see photos attached.

Prior to the camera alignment calibration, my prints were really wonky. I am happy to say that the alignment helped. Along with having to print in the complete darkness instead of having lights on. It worked, at least, on a 5" x 10" proofgrade acrylic print. I am waiting for supplies for my 18" x 20" acrylic.

Any insight would be great. Thank you! I am a newbie and feel very lost!

The first photo is after the calibration. The second photo is pre-calibration. Thanks.

The printable area is ~11x19.5, and is shown completely in your pictures.

You can physically fit 18" tall pieces into the machine, but you can only print on the lower 11" or so. That’s why Proofgrade material is 12x20, sized to fit onto the bed.

1 Like

Hi Eflyguy,

Thank you. That is helpful. I was wondering if you could look at some screenshots I took and tell me if the alignment or precision (whatever it’s called) is normal? I haven’t touched the print, and the actual laser seems to not align with where it was placed in the software, if that makes sense. I was also wondering how to tell exactly where the “printable area” is within the software? I thought the non-printable area was the part I scribbled red in the third photo, but then I could print in it. So, I wasn’t sure what the purpose was of the frame within the software. But, in the other photos, the print versus the software can be quite off.

Thank you and have a great rest of your week!

Capture7

Capture4