PG Basswood vs PG Medium Draftboard

Newbie here! We were cutting out some ornaments and had no problems with the PG Medium Draftboard. However we went to do the same print on PG Medium Basswood and it burnt a few of them and then we stopped.
Could it be the image settings? Not really sure. Speed was @150 and laser was full power. Previous to that I was using 0.234” thick plywood from Lowe’s which I was unable to cut through on 2 passes. I closed out the program and tried over on the Basswood without success. Struggling here. Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated!

Welcome to the forum.
When you use PG settings on PG materials you should get very reliable results. Can you share a photo of the failed print on the basswood along with a screenshot showing the settings?

2 Likes

One thing that you might not be aware of yet though, the settings for cutting through Basswood are going to be different than the settings for cutting through Draftboard.

In order to load the correct settings for the different material, click on the button at the top of the thumbnail column and you can use the Search tool to just type in “Basswood”. Choose the correct plywood or hardwood thickness for whichever one you are working on…either Medium (1/8" thick) or Thick (1/4" thick) and it will load the correct settings for your model of machine.

4 Likes

Thank you for the reply! If I use non PG material. I enter the settings in custom, measure the thickness of the material. How do I know the speed or the number of passes it will take? Sorry for all the question

The best thing to do is jot down the settings for speed and power from a similar thickness PG material, then use that as a starting point. (If it’s plywood, use a similar plywood setting. For acrylic, use the correct acrylic settings for medium or thick material.)

Thickness of the material is critical in getting the right settings though, make sure you pay attention to how thick the material is that you are cutting.

2 Likes