Please help! Machine won't cut through anything

Hello, all. I have cleaned 6 lenses, I cleaned the fan in the back and the small one by the removable lens. I have cleaned the glass on the lid. I have emptied the crumb tray. My machine won’t cut blue acrylic with PG medium blue or PG thick blue. I also tried cutting it with the medium and thick black. Please help. I am NOT tech savvy and I am afraid to take anything apart to clean deeper than that, so please be gentle with comments. Thanks so much in advance. ~Kim

Have you been able to cut successfully except now suddenly it won’t cut? Does it almost cut through or not even close?

Hi! Thank you so much for responding.
Funny thing is it has almost always given me a hard time, so I would change it to PG THICK BLACK, and that would work, as it did today, but sometimes it just works really well and it cuts on medium with no issues. I am using 1/8" acrylic. I have the Pro.

These pics show where it starts to cut through, then doesn’t anymore.

Let me also add that when I use Glowforge Proofgrade materials, like medium walnut hardwood or plywood, I always have had to choose thick, otherwise it would not cut all the way through. :weary:

Just tried to cut these, and the same thing. :weary: This is 1/8" hot pink acrylic on PG medium black acrylic. Cuts some, then stops. The flowers didn’t cut to the other side at all.

Telling the Glowforge to cut something that is thick rather than the actual thickness of the material is misunderstanding how lasers work. Lasers need to be focused at the proper point on the material - the laser doesn’t exert more force because it has been told to cut something 1/4" rather than 1/8".

Glowforge guarantees that Proofgrade material will cut with the proper Proofgrade settings if the material is held flat, the optics are clean and the fans are clean. Therefore, you need to supply photos to Glowforge of your failed cuts once you have everything cleaned and are using the correct settings.