Preventable Quality Concerns

So I’ve been holding back on the forums to avoid backlash or a debate which is a natural occurrence in any forum. I think this is really something I like to make my thoughts known.

I work in the same industry as FLEX. FLEX is a great company and they know how to build. They are a great partner for Glowforge. For anyone doubting FLEX ability you shouldn’t. I wish I could say bad things about them but it’d be biased :wink: This experience is where I’m drawing my comments below.

No it’s not a real Problems and Support issue as I do not have my machine. I just want a staff to read my thoughts and hopes they bring it back to their team. Maybe you have, but at least I have comfort to know that I said my piece.

Now that we had a few weeks of watching and reading about people experience actual production units. I’m concern to read about the preventable issues as the end customer. I don’t lurk and ready every topic but these I saw more then once. I’m sure there’s more:

1. The machine has fingerprints that wasn’t cleaned properly
  2. Another account name on the machine
  3. The door is not moving smoothly
  4. Missing handles on the packaging <-- more if I ever need to do a warranty return, wouldn’t I need all 4 to ship back?

The first two is an easy fix that as part of the production procedure the unit must be clean and account names must be cleared before sending into packaging. The door movement issue needs to have some sort of spec that prevents grinding. If there is and it’s grinding at the end user, maybe that’s a shipping issue that knocked the door out of Glowforges spec.three are something that can be eliminated during QA. This isn’t a cosmetic issue, I consider this a warranty one as the grinding could mean premature wearing out of gears.