Problem rendering SVG in GFUI, displays correctly in Inkscape

I’m writing a program to generate SVGs for cutting boxes and I’m having a weird problem with part of the SVG. All the box parts show just fine in my program and in Inkscape but one of lines is placed incorrectly when I pull the file into the GFUI. I’m not an SVG expert so it could be somehow I’m generating it incorrectly but it shows fine everywhere but the GFUI. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I’ve gone through my code a ton to see if I might have messed up somewhere and can’t find anything. I’m using p5.js and the p5js-svg library.

In the image the bad lines are the left side of the bottom 2 pieces. They’re supposed to be the left side and are ending up on the bottom.
badbox

Thanks

Not exactly sure what is causing the problem. But was able to fix it. The GFUI won’t be able to process the text as is and the lines in question come in as a different color than the rest. Different colors mean those two lines will have different settings. But neither of those by themselves will cause the different placement.

Anyway, to fix the problem I selected the boxes (without the text) in Inkscape and selected Path-Combine. All of the lines were originally different segments. Still don’t understand why but it works. Also, always save a file as Plain SVG not Inkscape SVG.

badbox%20fixed%20Plain

2 Likes

I don’t know anything about SVG either, but I did open your file in TextWrangler and found the following on line 3:

defs/

First of all, if it’s a defs close tag I think the slash should be at the beginning. But also I found no open defs tag. So I don’t know if this is a problem with your program or with Inkscape but you might look into it. (Had to remove the carets so Discourse would display it).

1 Like

Thanks @rpegg and @cynd11 . @matt4, did their replies take care of your question?