Problems with Laser Head Not Found

Hello everyone! I am a newbie and I’m reaching out for help! I’ve recently setup my new Glowforge that I received in April 2022 on August 17,2022. I have been running into an issue and receive an error message ahead not Found. It’s like the laser head isn’t sliding over to the camera in order to be located. I have reached out to Glowforge Support, followed all instructions, and no luck. Would anyone be able to provide any assistance on other ways I could possibly get this issue resolved? I’ve even moved the rail halfway, centered the laser head underneath the camera, and turned the machine back on hoping it would pickup but nothing. Any assistance from anyone would be greatly appreciated.

Laser head just sits and camera is unable to locate.

As long as you’ve contacted support, you’re in warranty and can get it replaced.

Some people have workarounds like moving the head before powering on the machine, but the fact is your machine is not operating correctly and you are entitled to one that does. My machine is 5 years old and I’ve never had to do that.

3 Likes

Thank you so much for your feedback. Due to the machine was shipped out February 2022, my warranty expired on August 11, 2022 deposit I just setup and connected the machine on August 17, 2022 for the first time. I’m not going to give up and hope something works out.

While you’re waiting for a customer support response, take a Zeiss lens cleaning wipe out and clean off the camera that’s on the lid of the machine facing down. If that camera has some gunk on it, then it might not be able to find the print head in the photos it takes.

2 Likes

I do not really know that much about the mechanics of the machine.

Make sure your white ribbon cable is fully inserted into the laser head. I would take it off and put it back on.

I recently read someplace on the Internet to never ever move your laser arm if it is plugged in.