Problems with not cutting through material

Hi! I’m new to glowforge and just tried cutting my first cut today. I tried cutting the snap box and it didn’t cut through the proofgrade material provided. How do I go about this issue?

Welcome @janeec57. With a new machine the lack of successful cut can often be traced to not having the material dead flat on the crumb tray.

Can you post a picture of the Gift of Good Measure using the Medium Draftboard that you have done. It is the benchmark to measure what’s going on. If that works ok, then we can go back to the initial issue.

Can you post a picture of the result of the snap box project? Can you post a screen shot of your settings?

Sorry it wasn’t a good experience right away, but we’ll help getting it taken care of.

2 Likes

Hi @marmak3261! Thank you for helping. I will send upload pictures ASAP.

Anyhow, you want a screenshot of jus my settings?

And I actually initially cut it with the medium plywood. Most pieces came out but not as easily as I thought. I cut the other 2 pieces that didn’t cut well on the plywood with the medium draft board but still had a little trouble with that one as well.

1 Like

Screenshots are always helpful. We have some eagle eye forum regulars who can spot things you wouldn’t even know were there!

1 Like

This was the medium plywood

image image
This was the medium draft board

As you can see the back view of both it didn’t cut through.

1 Like

Lens upside down or shifted down?

I’m so sorry to hear that you’re running into trouble with your new Glowforge. I’ve extracted the log files from your unit, and compared them with the details you’ve provided.

I’d like to review the results of a specific print, and create a baseline for your Glowforge. When you have a moment, could you please do the following?

1. Turn off your Glowforge, then turn it back on