Question about shading

Ok So, (Friday) <— my glowforge name… HAS ARRIVED and so far everything has been great and fairly good on alignment.

However now that I’m starting to use the laser I am wanting to do multi colored projects. I have downloaded the illustrator multiple shade of grey and blacks for the different power levels but the it just shade everything the same color when engraving, I have to manually change the power for each layer, is there an option to have it engrave the whole image and different power levels by itself? or do you need a jpg or something for images to auto shade?

I am just starting out on illustrator and so far think I am doing fairly well at it but does anyone know or have or have had made a detailed easy to understand tutorial on how to do multi shade images and cut paths around said images v.s. just standard black and white cut outs? I cannot find any really good detailed demos of it on youtube. Any help would be great.

Also I seen a test file at one point for testing new material settings with different shades and cut settings in one file, does anyone have that and if so do you actually have to manually setup each item in that file or is it auto shaded to correct settings like I want a phone to do?

1 Like

You could leave your art as vectors, but you will need to specify settings for each shade.

The easier approach would be to rasterize your artwork and use the “vary power” setting.

2 Likes

Easiest way is to just rasterize your grayscale image (Object > Rasterize), and then use the Photo Engrave setting in the Glowforge interface. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Thank you this works, next question on this same thing though. After I rasterize the image when I go to upload I have to select the original image I designed from and it says to embed the file, How do I do that on illustrator to embed the image so I don’t have to keep or find the original again?