Realistic Shipping Expectations?

This is meant as a positive post. I am asking out of true ignorance and not trolling.
If Glowforge and its supply chain had everything in order (boxes to power supplies) and under ideal conditions. Roughly how many GF units could we expect flex to ship daily?
I work in the education field and have no idea how many units a top quality manufacture like flex could crank out per. day? If flex ramped up making and shipping a reasonable number of units per day starting Oct. 1, could they make the Oct. 31 deadline?

What is a reasonable number of units to manufacture and ship per day?

4 Likes

Realistically, we don’t have sufficient data.

The casual observer might suspect that output has been higher than it is right now; and there are multiple theories about that.

My favorite theory is that Flex is training or expanding to accommodate higher output. There are problems with UPS handlers, as well as some manufacturing defects, and I am sure those are under scrutiny, as well.

Glowforge is trying to resolve defects while simultaneously trying to ramp up production.

I really do hope that they make the Oct 31 and Nov 30 milestones. BUT… I expect that they will deliver a lot in October. I don’t expect they will succeed in delivering all the 30-day orders by end of October. I hope they’ll get up past day 20, though.

I picked a number out of the sky. I’ll guess that day 20 orders will “ship” (that is to say they have their golden email) by October 31.

I am hopeful and optimistic and I really really want Glowforge to succeed and I really really want everybody to have their machine soon. I may be considered a cheerleader by some.

I have zero numbers to base my guess; but the Glowforges are rolling. Maybe not as fast as some wish; but they are rolling. They are coming, and they are great.

5 Likes