Recipe boards on Walnut

Hi all.

I’m new to the whole glowforge thing. I am attempting to engrave recipes on thicker walnut boards. I removed the crumb tray and put it in (It is too thick on the tray). Unfortunately, the writing is hard to read and didn’t engrave deep enough. My first guess is that I am too far from the laser. Therefore, my question is how high should I bring the board up? Any suggestions on the laser settings? I just went with the generic ones picked when I chose hardwood walnut.

Thank you all.

if it’s fuzzy then yeah probably the focus is wrong. If you can post a pic of the engrave that went wrong and an image of the recipe file we can probably narrow down the cause.

As for how high to raise it, you need it to be in that sweet spot of -.0- 0.5" above the crumb tray height. For most people that’s right around 1.8-2.3 inches from the base of the Glowforge. There’s a simple way to measure this, provided by the ever-clever @dwardio:

After ensuring your board is in that height range, I’d recommend using the auto-focus feature in the UI and you should be good to go on height/focus issues. Alignment left/right and up/down is a separate topic, which is a little beyond what you were asking.

5 Likes

The Laser will only work properly within a bit less than half an inch above the crumb tray to the level of the grill of the crumb tray. So if a piece is over a half inch thick you do need to remove the crumb tray but the top of your piece has to be in that same range as when something is on the crumb tray, below that level the laser cannot focus properly.

In addition, scorched walnut is not much different in color than regular walnut so reading an engraving would be hard if it came out perfectly. Cherry, oak, or maple, can be read much better and bamboo will be splotchy in color but more readable as well. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

100% this. Engraved walnut is not text-friendly in my experience, unless backfilled with white paint or epoxy.