Sanding, before or after engraving/cutting?

I’ve never used a laser before and I have a TON of ideas to add engravings to many of my woodworking creations.

This question is directed at woodworkers who also use lasers. When you are making something that needs “something special” to be engraved into the face, do you find that you need to sand the piece before you engrave? Or do you engrave your piece, finish assembly, and then sand the whole piece?

Because of the height restriction on the Glowforge (1.5"), some of my pieces (wooden Mugs specifically) would not fit in the bed to be engraved. Therefore, I’ll need to engrave BEFORE assembly. My current workflow would say that I’d have to sand everything AFTER the engraving and assembly, but I’m concerned that I would end up just sanding off whatever I just engraved on the piece. But if I sand it down to final grit first, and then engrave, I think that would not be good for the final shaping that you do at assembly with sanding all irregularities, glue drips, etc… away.

Would you say that the solution is just to engrave my design deeper than normal to account for material being sanded away at the end?

1 Like

Somewhere or another, in a YouTube video I suspect, I remember it was mentioned that you could purchase prepared wood, zap it with your laser beam, assemble, and apply a finish and have a completed product very quickly. So, certainly one way to do it is to sand the pieces first. I suppose sanding off glue and smoothing out joints could happen after that. Two steps maybe? Sand whole piece, then final sanding after laser?

Honestly, never used a laser myself either. So, I don’t know that this is helpful.

You or your spouse didn’t happen to write an article for Backwoods Home Magazine, did you?

1 Like