Set Focus Constant Error Code

Hey everyone,

For the last few days my set focus has no longer been working at any point. The laser head will act like it is going to focus, return to home, and then will throw and error code about refreshing the browser and trying again.

I’ve disassembled, and cleaned probably 5-10 times. I’ve refreshed, restarted, cleared cookies and caches, and nothing is making it making it work.

Even when I input the material thickness manually, the bed image does not refresh or adjust to that input.

I have been using the same exact files for the last 6+ months flawlessly, so I know that’s definitely not the problem. The material I always have been using is either 1/4” or 1/8” non proof grade birch ply.

If anyone has any recommendations or knows the solution, is greatly appreciate it. This issue has caused me to lose so much time and material.

Try setting the start to closest match PG stuff. That will set the thickness to that and then try the Set Focus. When you clean be sure to clean on either side of the main lens as the set focus uses the laser and camera at those two locations. :grin:

Make sure the two little windows (one on each side of the laser lens opening) are clean. One is a red laser, the other a sensor that looks at that laser. Watch the set focus operation and make sure you see the red laser hit the material and not a hole in the material. The system has a hard time measuring dark surfaces so if your trying to cut black unmasked acrylic as an example, it may cause the laser not to be seen.

Hello @kns70702 - I’m sorry to hear you’re having focus trouble recently, thanks for reaching out.

I appreciate the detail you’ve provided on steps you’ve already tried. Based off that, this sounds like you’ve pretty well eliminated that this is some sort of hang up in how you’re going about setting focus, and more likely something about the printer is unhappy.