Shape from "capture from camera" trace is being cut twice

Hi GF Community. I am a newbie to Glowforge and am learning Inkscape with some success. I am impressed with what my GF can do, but I have hit a snag. I mostly will be using my GF to cut surfaces for decorative painting, etc. When using “New Design - Create - Capture Image from Camera”, I am able to capture the hand drawn outline and then click inside the closed design to cut out the shape. When I place the artwork on the wood, I get an engrave and a cut step. I have learned to tell GF to ignore the engrave step, but when it cuts, GF double cuts along the shape. This both doubles the time and makes a lots of crumbs in the crumb tray. Since I plan to do a lot of this type of cutting, I hope someone can tell me what I am doing wrong or what I can do to fix this. Thanks

When you are clicking to create the cut outline, do it just outside the figure, not inside. Do not click on the outline of the figure.

1 Like

Thanks, I tried that. For one I just clicked inside and double cut, for the next I just clicked outside and double cut I even tried exporting as an .svg and then opening it in Inkscape and choosing Path~Combine. When I zoomed in on the original import in Inkscape, I could definitely see two pink outlines, but once I “combined” the paths. It only looks like one cut line no matter how much I zoom in.

That is really strange; I’ve never seen that happen before. Maybe the trace algorithm is going through a glitchy time. Hopefully when staff sees your results they can shed some light.

In Inkscape, make sure you have set your path to center. Perhaps this discussion will help: Avoiding Double Cut Lines In Your Designs

Oh no, I’m sorry you’ve hit a snag!

To better understand the trouble you’re experiencing, could you please send me a screenshot of what you see in the Glowforge app when this happens? Make sure to include the rulers in your screenshot and show as much of the bed as possible