Shared files not working properly

I am a graphic designer and my friend is a graphic designer. We both know what we’re doing in Illustrator however when he creates an .ai or .svg file and I attempt to cut, it automatically thinks it’s supposed to engrave. Why might this be happening? If I tell it to cut instead of engrave it cuts twice. (I understand Glowforge still believes there are two lines because of how it’s interpreting the file as a filled shape). Any help would be greatly appreciated!

There is some special knowledge to do graphics vs Laser If you have a filled vector, you can cut the outside of the object (the two lines) or engrave the inside of the vector. If you see a vector where the fill includes everything then as an engrave it would fill the entire space, or as a cut/score, it will be an outline of that space. this is true if the object is as wide as a circle or as narrow as a line.
If you want a single line then remove the extra or break it apart and make the other part a different color.

2 Likes

Check that your strokes are set to center and not inside or outside.

5 Likes

If you can share a sample here, it can be solved without guesswork.

3 Likes

The vector isn’t filled. We tested it every which way. We literally had him create a square with no fill, just an outline and save as an .svg. When I open in Glowforge it thinks it’s a filled shape. When I do the exact same thing, it knows it’s a cut line.

what if you do not save an SVG and instead copy and paste from AI??

Any vector can be engraved, cut, or scored. Sometimes all three, like a Turducken
You can change from one to the other at any time,- but the engraved area needs to have all sides. Hence the double line.

2 Likes

I was originally taking his .ai file and converting it to an .svg myself. Everything seemed to be fine but we run into the same problem each time.

Skip converting to SVG (it’s not necessary) and instead copy/paste from AI to GFUI - does the same issue happen?

1 Like