Shoutout to forum readers

This post is for the people that skim the forum but haven’t posted anything yet. Hi! Welcome! Introduce yourselves and don’t be so shy. I hope you find useful information in this community, and maybe some new friends! What are you going to do with your Glowforge?
I’ll start;
Hi, I am Jeremiah. I live in Northern California, collect old bicycles and tinker with aircooled Volkswagens. Im a 3D Animator working in video games. While waiting for the Glowforge, I am learning 3D printing and strengthening my 3D modeling skills.
I ordered a Glowforge to be able to supplement my income, develop better cosplay props, and to burn things.

31 Likes

Be sure to head on over to the map thread after you check in here:

10 Likes

Hi my name is nick.
(hello nick)
I am a forum skimmer. I have been skimming for almost 2 years now. its had its ups and downs, but im glad im still here. :wink:

But for real, its a good place. best forum ive seen in a long long time.

15 Likes

Hello Nick!

3 Likes

Hey Jeremiah! I’ve literally been reading every new post (not so good at going back to posts after I’ve already viewed them), thirsting for every little consumable tidbit about the Glowforge I can find, but tend to only comment here or there. I’m a graphic designer with ZERO lasering experience so I don’t really feel like I could add to most of the discussions & I don’t even know what I don’t know to ask questions yet.

I know once I get one I’ll definitely be way more active as I begin tinkering. I bought a Glowforge because I know how to use Illustrator inside & out so I know I could easily design stuff with it—I’ve always thought a 3D printer was cool but not as practical & kept thinking if there was something like this that manipulates materials that already exist I’d be in Heaven.

Worked on any video games we might be familiar with?

16 Likes

Hey jamingaroutte!