Slit Slot Hinge Lid Box

I guess that what you call it. It is a combination of few boxes I have seen made. I made a small one to save material and to test the settings.

My wife said it look like a ring box, so I made it into one.

You can make your own box using the link below. Not just for rings.

91 Likes

Small and cute!

2 Likes

Very nice - and at a larger scale you’ve made flat pack furniture!

9 Likes

You know, I haven’t tested to see if Cuttle has a limit. But if I ever get a ShopBot, I might try it.

3 Likes

awesome, thank you!

3 Likes

Thanks a lot! i am just getting into making boxes and having a great time - though my son"s face when he said “What did you do today” and I said 'I made a BOX!!!"…well, he gave me the same look when I jumped up and down for joy yelling “I got a Hammer for Mother’s Day!”

11 Likes

I love this, thanks for the share. I like the slots for a box-stays together without glue!

3 Likes

nice project. What is the ring holder insert made of?

1 Like

It is 65lb card stock paper. Recollections brand at Michael’s. I used the default settings in the glowforge.

There is link on the read me that creates the insert if you want to make ring insert.

2 Likes

Nice. What type/how thick is your material? It doesn’t look like plywood or veneered MDF .

1 Like

Proofgrade medium walnut.

1 Like

Now it just needs a way to click-lock to stay shut! Very cool, thank you for sharing it and I’ll be adding this to my Cuttle dashboard :sparkling_heart:

2 Likes

Thank you for the share Brian!

2 Likes

Like the flip hinge. Thank you!

This is awesome - thank you for sharing the file!

Nice design. I like the way the sides slot into the hinge before assembly. It gives the box such a clean, uncluttered look.

2 Likes

Very clever hinged box. The walnut looks nice with your wife’s ring too.

3 Likes