So fustrated

Pretty sure my new machine is a dud. it won’t cut. I’ve emailed support, sent pics and done the exercises they tell you to do. I still haven’t had a response (other than an automatic response). I’ve tried calling multiple times, I am on hold for 20 mins and then it goes to voicemail.

I think the lens on the side is damaged.

So fustrated, I’m a nurse and this is my weekend off, I wanted to spend the weekend playing :frowning:
I would at least expect a response from support!

------UPDATE--------

So I have just figured out that that window is NOT ALIGNED with the laser very well.

I unscrewed the piece in the pic below, cleaned it on the inside, and tried a test print.

I cut out a small circle in the top left hand corner of the piece of draftboard, worked great. I then tried the same cut in the bottom right. The laser did not go into the middle of that window, and hit on the frame of that widow, causing a flash (I was stood right there and hit stop as soon as it happened)

1 Like

Fortunately that is just a window, not a lens. And it screws out so it can be replaced easily.

As soon as they can get it arranged, they’ll set you up with a replacement. (Not a big deal, if that’s all it is.) Sorry you don’t get to play right away though, that’s a definite let down.

But hang in there, fun times are ahead.

3 Likes

Looking at it I would not expect it to make a huge difference in cutting ability. There is plenty on the surface to reduce cutting ability.

In any case, you can get a replacement window easily enough if the difference in money is less important than your available time.
Printer Head Window (Black) – Glowforge Shop

did you see my update… the laser is not going through that window

I would then take a hard look and post a photo of the window under the left hand side and make sure it is screwed in properly and that part not loose somehow. Properly installed I don’t think there is much room for improper aiming.

2 Likes