So I did something today

So I did something today, I cut the bottom out of the GF to garner greater depth and it was surprisingly easy. After I was done I decided to test it out on a cup, a water bottle and a glass bottle.

I’m new to this whole cylindrical material engraving and would love to hear from any one who has done this successfully.

What are your techniques for centering graphics?

What is the greatest width you use?

Do you do one graphic in multiple engraves if so how?

What I did was find the center line mark a half inch on either side and made the graphic an inch wide. Then I turned the material a half inch and did the next part. I felt like it was a lot of work. Is there any other ways that make it easier? I think biggest issue is going to be alignment. If you can give some insight please help.

14 Likes

You’ll be interested in this:

And this:

8 Likes

Nice box you’ve built to be your new bottom :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Now that you’ve cut the bottom out, you can engrave much larger objects. You could modify my fixture design, to which @evansd2 shared the link above, to handle full circumference engraves on larger bottles. :+1:

3 Likes

I had an old dress my GF was sitting on top of. So I centered the GF cutout hole on the top drawer and cut out a hole in the dresser. That way I can load it from the top and also pull the drawer out.

4 Likes

Thanks for your reply, I am intrigued as to how it works. I’m by no means an expert or engineer. Lol I watch your videos but can wrap my head around how you got the dowel to spin without having to manually spin it and also how you got it to spin at the correct speed. Again thanks for the reply and hopefully I can learn something new from yall.

3 Likes