SO3 vs. Shaper vs. Crossfire?

Alright, there are many past threads on … aspects … of this question, but I also know several of you have an SO3, at least a couple have the Shaper, and I only found out that the Crossfire exists at all because of this forum.

So: given roughly $2K, which of these tools would you buy: Shapeoko 3, Shaper Origin, or Crossfire?

(For those of you not familiar with Crossfire: http://www.langmuirsystems.com/ )

I’m essentially aiming for maximum flexibility and dollar-per-unit-of-work-envelope, not any specific task (except that metal > wood).

I used to work in the structural steel industry, so I’m familiar with plasma systems and their manifold complexities. I was all geared up to get an SO3 (because it can do profiled [eg: topo map] surfaces, whereas the Shaper won’t), but then y’all pointed out that the Crossfire will soon exist.

But it also can’t profile a surface. Then again, it’ll work in steel; those of you with an SO3, have any of you used it frequently in metals? Will I burn out a motor by using it on 6061 more or less all the time?

Those of you with a Shaper, is the small-and-portable nature of the device as convenient as it seems? Does it outweigh being more or less stuck with wood/plastic? Even if you’ve got a garage to do things in?

In a perfect world I’d have a full size Mazak industrial mill, but that world also involves me discovering the winning lottery ticket on the sidewalk tomorrow morning, so…

1 Like

Shapeoko has a discourse of its own, I got a buddy who has one. I think you can probably read it as a guest? Might be a good source.

If you are using us as a rubber ducky then I think you answered your question right there.

There’s a fellow on the community.carbide3d.com discourse site that almost exclusively uses it to cut 6061, but he went to more than your average rigor to make his machine rigid. There are also a fair number of people who burn through dewalt routers at a pretty good clip.