Speed Problems

I just received my third Glowforge. The first 1 didn’t cut at all, and I was then sent a refurbished one, which also didn’t cut. Each machine had lots of tests done to make sure I wasn’t doing anything incorrect.
I’ve just received the third printer, and it is so quiet and very slow compared to the other 2 machines. It gets pretty smoky on the inside, and the fan doesn’t seem to suck the smoke out very fast. It cuts, which is great, but just incredibly slow
I’m not very experienced with the techy side of the printers, as I haven’t had a working one long enough to discover all the settings. I did change the speed to full power, and it still cuts very slow. Perhaps something else needs to be changed as this is a refurbished machine. Would love some advice please

First lets address the smoke and quiet issue. In the interface, with a design open, click the three dots at the top of the interface to the right of the T. When the menu drops down, make sure that “Glowforge airfilter attached” is toggled to off (left). I believe that your machine is setup for an inline fan or an airfilter.

As for the speed, I don’t think this machine will be any faster or slower than your previous machines. You said that you changed speed to full power - but that is not a speed setting, that is a power setting. There is no full power speed setting.

1 Like

Thank you.
Looking at the drop down menu now, ‘glowforge air filter attached’ is toggled to on, but it won’t allow me to toggle it off. It’s in light grey print and won’t let me select it. The only thing it allows me to do is hit the question mark beside it, and takes me to Glowforge Air Filter Manual.