Stuck and need some help please - Acrylic Stamps

I’m a newb, have a pro. Made my designs in Photoshop per community rubber stamp tutorial. Now, how do I get it into the GF interface? Go through Illustrator?

I’ve read mention of 3D engrave settings but can’t find any references. Is there additional information somewhere on the features of the GlowForge for more than just the basic Owners Manual. I feel like I’m missing the pieces of the puzzle and I’m just stuck. Can someone please kindly point me in the right direction? TIA

Susan

1 Like

Well I’m certainly not a seasoned user, however, I have made some stamps. Save your design in PS as a pdf. Then open it in your vector program-I use Inkscape-free…or if you have illustrator and save as an svg. Or, you can just import the pdf into glowforge.
I have used the orange rubber stamp and found the best settings for me to be 340/70/225 with 2 passes and vary power. You will have to test yours depending on what type of material you have but there’s lots in the community with settings. Just do a search for rubber stamps!!
And, this will probably be moved to everything else as it’s really not a problem, but i’m not sure:-).
Welcome!!

1 Like

If you’re engraving only then you don’t need to vectorize/go through Illustrator. Just export your art from PS as an SVG or PDF.
If you want to cut or score then you’ll need vectors and Illustrator is great for that.

The 3D engrave works best with raster images (Photoshop) rather than vectors.

2 Likes

And to add to what @ekla said, you can save it as a JPG or PNG as well. (Saving as a transparent PNG are my personal favorite.)

1 Like

Yes, after you have made the stamp in your favorite raster program, you can place it in your favorite vector program to create the cutting outline and ensure the stamp is the size you want.