Suggestion: Put time remaining in taskbar

Not sure if this is the right place for suggestions, but it sure would be nice to see how long is left on my print from the taskbar. Should be an easy implementation.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

Glowforge personnel do not monitor the forum, so you should email your suggestion to Glowforge Support.

5 Likes

and yet it is not. I think someone tried to do one as an add-on, but I was unable to find it so I may be imagining things :-).

If you want :glowforge: to get your suggestion though, you’ll need to send them an email at support@glowforge.com

3 Likes

Awesome, thanks for the direction! I’m a web developer, so I know how easy it would be for them. Updating the taskbar on a webpage is literally a 1-line command. But it would be harder for a plugin, because the plugin would have to search-and-find the time in the page and would have to override the page’s default title, and if the page updates the title on their own for any reason the plugin would have to detect this and replace every time. As well, if there’s ever an update to how the page displays the time (from the code), the plugin would also have to be updated.

Definitely easy for Glowforge to do it though. I’ll email them. Thanks again.

3 Likes

To be fair to Glowforge here: You think you know. One developer to another — you know full well that code bases can be really messy, internal processes and resources can be convoluted, and project teams can get splintered really quickly.

I agree it doesn’t seem too hard but that doesn’t mean it is in reality.

As for me I just say “hey Siri set a timer for 46 minutes” when I have a job where I really need to know when it finishes.

Btw mostly unrelated: if you really want a good addition to the ui definitely download @chris1’s beep extension. You will love it.