SVG File Not Allowing Cut Lines

Y’all. I am about to go bonkers! I have created 3 layers, no smart objects, deleted all the work paths, and am saving a transparent file. What am I doing wrong?? Every time I drag the file into the glowforge app it readily recognizes all of my layers, but it does not allow anything but engraving.

All help is appreciated!!

Here’s the file. I created it in Photoshop, is that the issue? As a photographer I’m still learning Illustrator…

The problem is that the file is composed of just bitmap images. Here’s what it looks like in Illustrator. See how it says Image (x4) on the upper right of screenshot? Those are all rasters, which can only be engraved.

To do vector work in Photoshop, you’ll need to use the pen tool. Or, that’s the only way that I know to do it. If you know how to use the pen tool, you know just about the hardest thing to learn in Illustrator.

1 Like

Okay. Is there a way I can at least reuse the tree I designed in photoshop, or am I going to have to trace it all on Illustrator?

This is starting to make a bit more sense. I made a file for some clocks yesterday that turned out great, but the cut shapes were all vectors.

I can’t speak for Photoshop / Illustrator. With Inkscape, there’s an option to convert bitmaps to SVG. And for the text, you can use “object to path”.

Here, I added a new tree outline and hole for hanging. The dims are a bit big, but you can resize in the GFUI.

Ornament 13.zip (37.9 KB)

I did convert the tree so I could get an offset path, then deleted the parts I didn’t want. Drew a new couple of circles and joined them to the offset path. I was right where you’re at a month ago. Check out a couple of the videos that @chris1 did, they were just the jumpstart I needed.

Have fun!

4 Likes