Table and Window Venting

I am just getting started and setting up for the GF to arrive and I found something that I couldn’t find in any of the MANY videos I watched. I went down to Lowe’s and found a Toilet Flange that would work perfectly for venting out a window. It is only $7 and can be found here if you need to see what it looks like before you go:

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Oatey-ABS-Flange/50315059

I also picked up a smaller work bench from Sam’s club (only available online the 72 inch is in stores). which I mounted an 8" inline fan on the bottom.

So far here is my set up:

10 Likes

Looks great! If you could use tape or something to tie up your hose so it doesn’t have that U in it, that’ll definitely help with your exhausting. Unless you’re planning on raising the table top a bit in which case nevermind! :slight_smile:

There is some risk that a 4" water flange won’t fit a 4" exhaust port (insert rant about industry specific sizing here) but luckily the hose ends are more flexible so yay!

The U is bad just because I don’t have it attached to the window. The inline fan is almost level with the window so it should be almost straight when it is all ready to go.

So far the hose fit the flange and I purchased a port extender for the GF.

Only a couple(ish) more weeks until I put it all to the test.

4 Likes

One thing about a toilet flange vs a dryer flange is that the dryer flange has either louvers or a covering that lets air only go one way, so that wind heading into the house is stopped but exhaust going out is not. This can be important if what is heading in is very cold, hot, or very humid, There are lots of sliders and ways to close things by hand, but in this case I think automatic works best.

4 Likes