Tempered Hardboard from Home Depot

I’ve been researching suppliers for materials (lots of great threads on here!) and it seems to be that baltic birch is the go-to for inexpensive, laser compatible wood. However, I can’t help but notice my local Home Depot has 1/8" tempered hardboard for ridiculously cheap. I found a couple of mentions of it on here, but not a lot. Has anyone used this comfortably? Would you mind me asking the settings you used? I’m still a noob and have only used cardboard other than GF proofgrade materials so far. I have a basic.

10 Likes

The 1/8" tempered hardboard at my HD has a brand name of Eucabord for ~ $8/sheet. I’m guessing yours is the same stuff.

I don’t do a lot of scoring or engraving (the stuff is pretty dark), but I’ve had good luck cutting at 305/Full with 3 passes.

Beware that only one face is smooth. The rough side takes glue very well. Good luck!

13 Likes

Awesome, great to know. Thank you!

If hardboard is the same thing as the pegboard stuff, I tried it once and did not like it, took waaaay tooo long to cut. Plus some are treated with formaldehyde, so there is that.

What I use a lot of is Home Depot 1/4" underlayment plywood. Cuts good enough with the PG thick cherry setting, accepts paint well, and often has nice grain ;p

6 Likes

I love the stuff. I use it all the time, for smaller scale models, heavy duty prototypes, and sometimes as a featured material.

.117 in Home Depot tempered hardboard cuts perfectly on a pro at 180/full with a .006 in kerf. Score at 220/20. Engrave at 1000/50@195.

23 Likes

Thank you. I just have a basic. I should have specified that.

That’s fine, set it on full and slow it down until you get a clean cut. The tempered hardboard is very consistent, like MDF/draft board.

5 Likes

I use hardboard for all my jigs. I love it ( and the cost!)

4 Likes

Do you do 1 pass at 180/Full?

Yup!

2 Likes

I’ve found that if you put the smooth side down you get better cut results.

6 Likes