Tips for a complete novice! Other novice out there?

Hi everybody, I am a complete novice in the field of laser cutting even using the programs like adobe illustrator etc. I just loved the commercial and was thinking about making homemade stuff for a while now. Did anybody else buy one who is a total beginner?
The pros: do you have some recommendations for me how I can prepare, what is important to learn in the next couple months while I am waiting for my glowforge. Thanks for your input. Have a great day!

Never used one myself. Just been Googling stuff.
The best place to start is what do you want to with it? There is a thread on people’s Pinterest pages for example.

That is mine for a place to start looking at all the stuff people do with lasers.
Also helps to know what material you want to work with. It doesn’t make much sense buying stuff for a material you don’t like :wink:

Trotech, another laser engraver company, actually has some pretty good videos on what they make and is pretty comparable to the Glowforge except the thickness of items.

3 Likes

I’m a novice, too…but looking forward to learning as much as possible while I wait for the GF to arrive. Also having some fun thinking about stuff I’d like to make. Cheers!

Yeah,
I’ve never had a laser cutter/engraver or had access to one. I’m not worried about it, though. This finishes my personal micro maker space (well it will never really be finished). I get the impression that to the machine itself; there will be nothing to learn. Can you install and run a laser or inkjet 2d printer?
The web software is not up yet so we can not be learning that, but I don’t think it will be all that complex either.