Top camera misaligned?

I’m new to Glowforge, but have watched lots of tutorials getting ready! Unfortunately, it looks like my top camera is really misaligned! It doesn’t look like everyone else’s videos and screenshots. It looks a big warped and after running the recalibration (two failed, and the last said it was not completed, but at the bottom said “calibration complete” but no changes were made.)

The camera is showing a large part of the front door, not the back of the board at all! As you can see, the precision marks are very off as well. I would be so grateful for any help on this! Does this camera alignment look normal? (The crumb tray is perfectly flat, everything is aligned!)

Screen Shot 2020-05-01 at 7.43.35 PM|690x447

Yeah, that doesn’t look normal to me.

You’ve opened a support ticket by posting in Problems & Support, so someone from the staff will be along soon to weigh in!

2 Likes

Oh – something to check in the meantime – make sure there’s nothing keeping the lid from closing all the way. it should be flush with the top of the Glowforge. Also make sure the surface the machine is sitting on is perfectly flat. Note that I said “flat,” not “level.” If the frame is twisted from sitting on a non-flat surface it can keep the top from closing properly, and I could see where that could cause the issue you’re seeing. You can level it by putting some sheets of paper under whichever corner needs it – it can take some trial and error, but you’ll know you’ve got it when your lid sits flush and even with the top of the machine.

5 Likes

This really isn’t a solution as I doubt there is one without replacing the machine, but is the camera securely attached to the lid? From the pic., it looks like it’s “hanging” forward.

I’m so sorry to hear about the trouble with the lid camera. Thank you for letting us know and posting this screenshot.

We’re reaching out to the engineers about this and will update you as soon as we have more information.