Trying to use the passthru on my pro... but I don't know how to layer my Ai design. HELP!

Hello! I am BRAND new to using my glowforge pro… or any laser for that matter. I’ve figured out how to do simple designs and lettering as long as it fits in the size requirements. However… using the passthrough for larger items … I just don’t understand. I am trying to cut out a simple wreath design… but I am lost as to how to do this using Ai. I got all the way up to separating and layering the design so it’s 2 different cuts… :thinking: I’ve tried reading whatever I can find… but I don’t understand it enough to “get it”. Is there a “how to use the passthrough feature for dummies” anywhere? I have a Mac if that is important to know. Help!

I would first start with what does not need the pass through, The GFUI only works on colors as layers so if parts are different colors the will be on separate layers. Note you have to change both the field color and the outline color. Each photo will have its own layer.

There are a couple of tutorials for it here:

(I’d read the third one Inkscape too, it’s laid out a little more “step-by-step” and easily adaptable to Illustrator.

3 Likes

What those tutorials are trying to explain is fairly simple in concept albeit a tad more difficult in practice.

1. Insert material through front slot (properly supporting it.)
  2. Load your first file and push the blue button.
  3. Push your material a bit.
  4. Load your second file and push the blue button.
  5. Repeat as necessary.