Using Inkscape with the Passthrough 🤔

Notice to new owners looking for instructions on how to use the Passthrough:

Glowforge has now developed their Passthrough software and it is much easier to use than the method described below.

The link to the Glowforge tutorials for using their Pro Passthrough software can be found here:

Using Inkscape with the Passthrough

I got a private message for some assistance in creating a file for Passthrough use in Inkscape.
(A caveat up front, I’m not an Inkscape expert and there might be an easier way to do this, but the overall process works the same as the process for Illustrator, so I’m going to capture the steps here in case anyone else is having trouble figuring out the sequence of events in the design. The cut process is very labor intensive in Inkscape.)

Part One: Create your Design

1. Open a new file (20" x 12") in Inkscape.
2. Type the text really large in whichever font you want to use. (You can size it later.)

3. Select the text and click Path > Object to Path

In order to see what just happened, (because it’s going to look like nothing happened when you do that), you can set the mode to Outline display mode…it shows the actual shape of the letters without displaying the Fill color. Fill color in text tends to obscure overlaps. The Fill is still there, you just don’t see it in Outline Mode.

Click View > Display Mode > Outline

And you get this:
See where the individual letters are not joined? They overlap each other and will cut as independent letters. They have to first be joined into one overall shape.

4. Those are grouped together, so right click and Ungroup. After Ungrouping, shift the letters over so that they overlap everywhere you want them to. (If they’re not joined together, you will get separate parts of the word.)

5. Now you want to join them, and since they are ungrouped, you can merge the shapes together using Path > Union.

You can see where the individual letters have joined into one shape.