Tutorial done! Time to play ;)

I am such a slacker. It too me 2-3 weeks to setup my Glowforge. I had to get the kids back to school and they just kept getting sick. I have finally named my Glowforge Fotoforge Glowinkle (yes, I panicked. I thought the names were just people naming them for their own reasons). The name is slowly growing on me. I printed these 4 tutorials on Monday. I am noticing alignment issues in the Chinese wave design. The rulers look great though!

I am currently printing a 3D photo engrave on prograde plywood. I see cutting is not an option at the moment. Do you recommend engrave first, cut later or is this something in the works?

And, on a side note, I love these little pieces! I am making a collection of these bits as well as my duct tape tears!.. (I’m an artist, not a hoarder. I promise!)

34 Likes

Your going to need a bigger collection box.

4 Likes

Correct – bitmap/rasters may only be engraved. Cutting requires vectors. If you want to cut out an engraved object, it will need a cutline drawn around it. Many methods for doing so here:

5 Likes

Love it! Duct Tape Art! :wink:
(And all your other projects are fabulous as well!) :smile:

2 Likes

Thanks. I will try this shortly. I just dragged the puzzle over the photoengrave and am surprised with the results!

Still a work in progress. I removed the tape and washed the dust off. It is still drying, but I am really impressed and inspired to do another one!

7 Likes

I’ve started a jar!

12 Likes

I am starting off with a shoe box. I am using the glowforge proof grade material shipping boxes for the big skeletons.

2 Likes

I’d love to see that once you finish! I think I’m over wood engravings. Now it’s time to move on to metal. Originally when I purchased this I was hoping to engrave on copper (like a photogravure), but that’s not possible. Now I think I will try some other sort of metal.

I am storing my offcuts in a jar exactly like this, too…only one with a clear lid. Great minds!