Using glowforge certified medium draftboard material not cutting or reading the barcode

I am using Glowforge dratboard and the engraving is pretty good, although it has been missing areas when I use other draftboards or the same thickness from Craft Closets. The real problem is that the cutting does not go completely through on the cuts using the medium draftboard setting and certified material. The cut will occassionally show a few dots on the backside of the material where it almost cut through.
I’m very new to Glowforge and am learning as I go. I did clean it using the instructions and the Zeiss wipes but that didn’t help.

Here are some things that you can check when a cut doesn’t go through:

Be sure to be clear when you provide more information to Glowforge about whether you’re using Proofgrade material or not.

MDF from other suppliers will not necessarily cut at the same settings even if it’s the same thickness. I have tested lots of suppliers including Craft Closet, and they are all different. A bit denser of a composition or thicker sheet and it’ll need a slower speed to cut through.

Make sure your lenses and mirrors are clean. I have found that, after cutting certain materials, the lens in the print head gets a coating of dust, which results in some poor cuts.

@cpaczosa123

I’m so sorry to hear that your print didn’t cut through.

Could you please post a photo of the front and back of the print and the date and time?

There are several things that need to be checked if the laser doesn’t cleanly cut through the material. We’ve discovered that photos don’t always come through well in emails, so I’ve included several links that will take you to reference instructions and photos. Please turn off your Glowforge and check the following:

Once all these things have been checked, please perform the following test print.

• When the print finishes, leave the lid closed and wait until the fans stop and the picture updates.

Check the completed print: