Vintage Globe Help

Hi! I got the Vintage Globe file and when I cut it the map is upside down! I can’t just switch the pieces as the hinges are different on the top and bottom (so corresponding pieces won’t fit). The map is upside down but the ships are right side up! Thankfully I noticed before I glued the map pieces down! I’ve emailed Glowforge but haven’t heard anything back. What can I do? I’m pretty new to this so I don’t know if or how I can fix it.

2 Likes

Eek!
This looks like maybe you somehow flipped the map artwork before you printed.
I’ve done that before with some of my own cuts, as the flip button in the GFUI is pretty easy to click and not even notice it =P

Unfortunately I don’t have much of a solution to offer…
I’m not familiar with the design, but how interchangeable are the pieces? Maybe you could reassemble flipping everything around, and re-printing just the ships, or just a few pieces that you can’t flip around?

Good luck!

I wish I had flipped it but I think the file it wrong. I even just went and reset the file and it is still the same. The hinge pieces and ships are unfortunately on pieces that can’t be flipped…I’ll keep trying.
Thank you for our input!!

I took a slightly closer look at the file.

Something did seem to get flipped or rearranged somehow when you cut.

Here’s the ship in the original design:

It should have 1 notch below it and 3 above it.

And it should be the piece below the hinge (A1):

1 Like

Whoops, meant to respond to @amymagnuson!

Someone else noticed this issue and I believe they fixed it - but if yours was already downloaded that won’t help. I believe that if you reset the design you’d get the updated one, but I’m not 100% sure so wait until a staff member responds.